top of page

Catching Up with Ritu Hemnani


Welcome back, Ritu! We're excited to hear about the last six months of your kidlit journey!


I'm happy to be back!

First thing we'd love to know: did you find anything surprising or fun about the editorial process as you readied LION OF THE SKY for publication?


I was surprised by how much I enjoyed the editorial process! My editor, the brilliant Alessandra Balzer, of Balzer+Bray, an imprint of HarperCollins, is extremely organized and systematic, and each round of edits was specific, so whether I was working on big-picture edits or focusing on character, setting, or various themes, I never felt too overwhelmed. Alessandra skillfully asked exactly the right questions that helped me distill what I was trying to say. She was quick to respond with insightful comments and enthusiasm, motivating me to dig deeper and infuse nuance into my writing. Her understanding of the heart of my novel helped me enhance its emotional impact, and her ability to see the potential in every scene, pushed me to explore new creative avenues and take risks with my storytelling. Our collaborative effort has resulted in a middle-grade novel that has exceeded my wildest expectations! I learned so much from the process and am grateful for the invaluable lessons and growth it has brought to my writing journey.


A collaborative effort produces the best books, for sure! What was the most challenging part of the editorial process?


The most challenging part of the process was when Alessandra felt I needed to change the title of my novel. I had grown so used to THREE COLORS OF HOPE that it took me months before I could find a new title that felt right, but one day, as I was working through edits, and thinking about the heart and arc of my main character, Raj, it just came to me. I shared my idea with my agent who loved it immediately, and Alessandra fell in love with it, too! Now I can’t imagine the book ever having another title!


It's an awesome title! What plans are in the works as you prepare for your book launch?


LION OF THE SKY will officially be released on 7 May 2024, in the United States, so I’m planning a book launch around that time in Hong Kong, too. I hope for it to be an event that celebrates our culture and heritage, while educating families about the horrors faced during the 1947 Partition of India, but also the courage and resilience of so many survivors who went on to reunite with loved ones and rebuild their lives.


My book will also make an early appearance in March 2024, during the Hong Kong Literary Festival, where I am collaborating with the Head of Curation of TEDxTinHauWomen, Treena Nairne, in an event to introduce my book and the powerful vehicle of verse. More events and school visits are in the pipeline, and I’m very much looking forward to traveling to the US for some school workshops and conferences. One thing’s for sure--I truly cannot wait to share this book of my heart with the world!


And all of us 24/7s can't wait to read and promote it here as well! Are you working on any new writing projects?


Yes! I am currently working on a new middle-grade novel in verse but I’m not able to share any information about that yet. I am also working on various picture books, and I hope to explore writing for other age groups, such as early readers and young adult novels, as well as eventually trying my hand at graphic novels. The challenge will be to keep writing as I balance school visits and marketing for this novel… but I’m sure the excitement of discovery, as ideas translate to words and then magically transform into books that you can wrap your arms around, will keep me going!


Sounds like your kidlit journey will continue for many, many years to come! We're honored, Ritu, that you're a member of our little, diverse group! We can't wait to see the accolades for LION OF THE SKY to begin to roll in!


Thanks to all 7 of the 24/7s for being the most supportive debut group I could have asked for!


17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page