top of page

Getting to Know Deborah Lakritz

Updated: Dec 24, 2022


Welcome, Deborah! So excited to have you here!


Delighted! This is the first time writing about Things That Shimmer, my debut book for middle-grade readers, and it's been truly satisfying to think back on the journey!


Awesome! We all want to know how you found your way to becoming a kidlit author.


Way back when I was a preschooler, my mother took me religiously to our public library to check out books and attend story time programs. She instilled in me a love of reading that has accompanied me throughout my life. As a social worker, I used books extensively with children to help them navigate divorces and deaths in their families, as well as fears and friendships.


Once I became a parent, one of my greatest joys was buying books for my own five children and introducing them to wonderful literature. Writing kidlit was just a natural extension of all of those experiences. For me personally, I had to wait until the timing was right and my youngest child was in school full time before I could seriously try to get published. In the meantime, I took writing classes, read great award winning titles, and started to do the hard work of learning the craft.


Wow! A mom of five, and now a published author. That's an amazing accomplishment! Is this middle-grade your first book contract?


Actually, no. I was offered my first book contract shortly after my youngest daughter started school. With raising a large family, however, there were times when I had to step away from writing for months at a time. But now my children are all grown and out in the world, I’m agented, and I just released my third picture book, and now have this exciting debut middle grade novel set to enter the world!


That's amazing. I'm sure your kids are proud! So What inspired you to write your MG book, Things That Shimmer?


The summer I turned nine years old, my family was in a horrific car accident that sent reverberations throughout our family for the rest of my childhood. Back then, the understanding of trauma and its impact on individuals was still in its infancy as PTSD hadn’t even been given its name or been identified as an actual condition. As soldiers began to return from Viet Nam, there was this understanding, a recognition, that they were suffering psychological trauma due to their wartime experiences. Soon mental health professionals began to see the commonalities between war veterans and others who’d been through life threatening experiences. That was the starting point for Things That Shimmer; two friends united by their deep understanding of what it’s like to grow up in a family dealing with trauma. But something has to pull them apart—right? That’s what makes a plot interesting!


We're sorry to hear your family had to go through that. It must have been a real challenge for you as a child. Your characters' emotions will no doubt ring true, and your story is sure to be a real heart tugger. Do tell. How did your manuscript come to be acquired by Kar Ben Books?


First, I submitted the manuscript to PJ Our Way, the preteen division of PJ Library, the non-profit Jewish book distribution organization of the Harold Grinspoon Foundation. They were seeking more books for their older readers and were offering financial awards for manuscripts that fit well into their program. Happily, my book was granted their incentive award and had a tentative agreement to be included in their program once it was published.


From there, my agent, Susan Cohen of Writers House, shopped it around, where eventually, an editor at Carolrhoda Books, an imprint of Lerner Publishing Group, liked it. But knowing that it had strong Jewish themes, she thought it might be a better fit for Kar Ben Books, which is also an imprint of Lerner, but specializes in Jewish picture books and middle grade novels. When publisher Joni Sussman read it, she loved it right away and made an offer. Joni actually published my first two picture books, so it was exciting news to know that I’d be working with her again!


It's great to have an agent who champions your work, isn't it! Would you say Things That Shimmer is a story of your heart?


Things That Shimmer is the story of my heart, the idea I had on the very first night I walked into my very first class on writing for children. While it is definitely a work of fiction, emotionally it feels very true, and I hope it resonates for readers wading through the murky waters of friendships, popularity, family relationships, and identity.


Important themes to be sure. Well, thanks so much Deborah for stopping by and for being a member of The 24/7s! We're looking forward to 2023 and 2024 to learn more about your MG debut and your book launch plans!


I am really excited about amplifying the work of all my fellow members, both here and elsewhere!


21 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page